Three SFU chemists honoured at national awards

Three Simon Fraser chemists have been recognized nationally for their outstanding contributions to research and chemistry.

SFU professors Roger Linington, Steven Holdcroft and Daniel Leznoff all received awards at this year’s Chemical Institute of Canada (CIC) conference.

The CIC, and its constituent society, the Canadian Society for Chemistry (CSC), is a network of professionals working towards the advancement of chemical sciences professions in Canada.

The institute represents chemists, engineers, students, academia, and government, among others.

Each year, the CIC and its constituents present more than 40 awards to recognize exceptional contributions to the chemical sciences.

"Three SFU researchers recognized in a single year for their outstanding contributions to research and chemistry is a testament to the strength, innovation and interdisciplinary nature of SFU’s chemistry department," says Dugan O’Neil, SFU vice-president, research and innovation.

"Their ground-breaking discoveries and leading research on some of today’s critical global issues cultivates a thriving research and teaching environment that transforms the SFU experience."

Roger Linington, professor, Canada Research Chair in High-Throughput Screening and Natural Products Discovery (Tier 1)

Recipient of the 2024 Biological and Medicinal Chemistry Lectureship Award

The Biological and Medicinal Chemistry Lectureship Award is presented to a scientist who has made a distinguished contribution to the field of biological or medicinal chemistry while working in Canada.

Linington’s research concentrates on molecules found in nature and their application to problems in human health. His SFU lab also focuses on the development of new screening technologies, the discovery and development of lead scaffolds for drug development, and modes of action for chemical compounds.

"Receiving The CSC’s 2024 Biological and Medicinal Chemistry Lectureship award is a significant honour," says Linington. "It is particularly encouraging to be recognized by my peers in the Canadian academic sector, and to be supported in this way by the Canadian Society of Chemistry."

Steven Holdcroft, professor, Canada Research Chair (Tier 1), electrochemical materials

Recipient of the 2024 Montréal Medal

The Montreal Medal/Medaille de Montreal is presented as a mark of distinction and honour to a resident of Canada who has shown significant leadership in or has made an outstanding contribution to the profession of chemistry or chemical engineering in Canada.

Holdcroft is awarded for his leadership and service to the Canada’s professional chemical community, which includes many years of work with the Natural Sciences and Engineering Council of Canada, the National Research Council of Canada, and the Canadian Society for Chemistry.

"It is a privilege to serve my profession outside normal university duties and extremely gratifying to receive this recognition from the Chemical Institute."

Daniel Leznoff, professor and undergraduate program chair

Recipient of the 2024 Rio Tinto Award

The Rio Tinto Award is presented to a scientist who has made a distinguished contribution to the fields of inorganic chemistry or electrochemistry while working in Canada.

Leznoff’s research focuses on a wide range of metals, from lithium to uranium. His research team is particularly interested in developing new ways to understand how to control structure, properties, and reactivity of molecular and supramolecular metal complexes.